Charlene Paparizos  440-247-4363

Merit scholar semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced its 2021 list of Semifinalists, who will compete for a share of 7,600 scholarships worth more than $31 million. Finalists will be announced between April and July 2022. The following nine Chagrin Falls High School students took the PSAT/NMSQT in October of 2020 and have been identified as National Merit Semifinalists: Robert (Trey) Brosnan, Matthew Daniels, Rose Hoelzel, Alexandra Holtz, Anne Mills, Azzurra (Wren) Opperman, Joshua Rooney, Hansen Song and Jude Zimmerman.

Commended students recognized

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced its list of commended students. The following four Chagrin Falls High School students took the PSAT/NMSQT in October 2020 and have been identified as National Merit Commended Students: Sophia Avery, David Skocic, Calvin Struk-Marn and Trey Taylor.

Top scoring students

The Northwestern University’s Midwest Academic Talent Search is a research-validated, above-grade-level testing program that currently offers the ACT and SAT to eligible identified gifted students. Each year, the district recognizes the top-scoring participants per grade level, per test. Students recognized in the 2020-2021 school year as top-scoring SAT students include current seventh grader, Claire Rubin; current eighth grader, Jacob Kay; and current freshman, Grace Mossad.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.