Charlene Paparizos  440-247-4363

Seniors join Cum Laude Society

Chagrin Falls High School awarded 38 students from the class of 2020 into the Cum Laude Society. This society is among the oldest academic honor organizations in the country for high school students.

The Cum Laude Society was organized by Abram W. Harris, director of the Tome School in Maryland, in 1906. The society is based on three core values that come from Ancient Greece: arete, which means moral goodness and living up to one’s potential; dike, which is the concept of justice; and time, which relates to being true to what is right and acting with honor.

The Cum Laude Society has 382 chapters throughout the United States, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Canada, England, France and Spain. Approximately 4,000 new student members are inducted each year. Only 20 percent of the senior class may be inducted.

This year’s inductees include: Emma Atkins, Katherine Baker, Elizabeth Bare, Molly Barr, Carolyn Bencko, Parker Broz, John Campbell, John Cashy, Mitchell Chapic, Alexis Christie, Hannah Clark, Tyler Feeney, Emma Gruss, Eamonn Hunter, Virginia Kanzinger, Ana Kevorkian, Benjamin Kniskern, Grace Lee, Anais Levi, Margaret Mills, Faith Mlachak, Jenna Mrofchak, Luca Opperman, Lilly Orazen, Cameron Owen, Isabel Pulte, Stephen Rust, Elijah Shall, Rand Singer, Ainsley Smith, Robert Snider, Molly Sobota, Wendi Song, Tyler Stinson, Henry Weiss, Hanne Wilson and Emily Wirbel.

CFHS achieves high ranking

Chagrin Falls High School is a 2020 Best High School, based on rankings from U.S. News & World Report. CFHS is ranked No. 2 in Cleveland, No. 7 in Ohio and No. 330 in national rankings. Nearly 18,000 schools were nationally ranked, and 691 schools were ranked in Ohio. In addition, the school was nationally ranked No. 110 in STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) high schools.

Ranking factors included a percentage scoring of college readiness, college curriculum breadth, math and reading proficiency, math and reading performance and graduation rate.

“This achievement is a result of committed students and dedicated staff; however, it is also reflective of a community that values education and supports the offering of a robust Advanced Placement program,” said Superintendent Robert Hunt.

Jameson Librarian of the Month

Angie Jameson, library media specialist for Chagrin Falls Middle School, earned the Rosen Publishing Ohio School Librarian of the month award for April 2020.

The award is given in partnership with the Ohio Educational Library Media Association (OELMA), a professional organization for effective school librarians and libraries statewide. The librarian of the month award recognizes one school librarian each month who has designed, developed and implemented a collaborative lesson plan or programming that encourages and empowers student learning.

Ms. Jameson created a book club for new students based on the book, “The New Kid,” by Jerry Craft. This will be featured on the OELMA Schoology website as a best practice occurring in libraries throughout the state.

The purpose of the award is to draw attention to the importance of the school library community and the librarians in them as well as the role that each librarian plays in transforming learning throughout a student’s K-12 career.

As an award winner, Ms. Jameson will have the chance to choose a free set of books for the CFMS library from Rosen Publishing. She will also be recognized at the 2020 OELMA Conference in October at the Dublin Embassy Suits in Dublin, Ohio.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.