Katy McGrath 550-543-9677

Teacher receives educator award

Kenston Middle School teacher Lynn Fagerholm received the Technical Educator Award by the Cleveland Technical Societies Council. The council recognized her for her contributions to the advancement of engineering and technical professions in Northeast Ohio.

“Mrs. Fagerholm’s love of science is evident in all aspects of her life. She brings science concepts to life with hands-on activities in her classroom,” said Pat Brockway, former Kenston Middle School principal.

High school garden gives back

The Kenston High School Giving Garden is bearing vegetables. Students have begun harvesting some of the produce, like sausage tomatoes, that will head to a local food pantry. Earlier this summer, high school students planted a variety of vegetables in raised beds outside the high school’s science wing.

Kenston celebrates AP Scholars

Kenston High School congratulated their students for earning more than 100 AP Scholar designations by the College Board for the 2020 school year in recognition of their achievements in college-level Advanced Placement Program exams.

Twelve students earned designation as National AP Scholars for earning an average score of 4 or higher on all AP exams on a 5-point grading scale with scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of those exams; 56 students earned the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken with scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams; 17 students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honors Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken with scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams; and 50 students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school. In addition, students can receive college credit, advanced placement or both for successful performance on the AP exams. About 18 percent of the more than 1.6 million high school students took AP exams and performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

National AP Scholars include: Emily Cronin, Adam Farrell, Amanda Glime, Frank Hegedus, Jessica Kirschman, Benjamin Knapik, Annika Markoff, Anya Parsons, Laura Parsons, Chloe Peiffer, Robert Sunderhaft and Aubrey Taylor.

Students who qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award include: Alexandra Akers, Anthony Alandt, Chloe Barnes, Natalia Barone, McKenna Benjamin, Isabella Benz, Delaney Bochenek, Alexa Busby, Macey Chamberlin, Emily Cronin, Margaret Eibler, Adam Farrell, Hannah Fender, Weston Gaskins, Evan Glasscock, Amanda Glime, Shawn Hamilton, Frank Hegedus, James Horwitz, Madison Journey, Stephen Kale, Okan Kardzhala, Jessica Kirschman, Benjamin Knapik, James Kregenow, Nya Ku, Gianna LaSalvia, Andrew Lauer, Annika Markoff, Tyler Mesnick, Claire Nidy, Mary O’Neill, Anna Ortner, Morgan Owen, John Palmer, Anya Parsons, Laura Parsons, Chloe Peiffer, Madeline Peters, Nathan Pulling, Nicolas Sanchez, Kyle Seely, Harris Skaramagas, William Smith-Skladany, Sarah Soryal, Avery Steinberg, Robert Sunderhaft, Ethan Suskowicz, Aubrey Taylor, Maxwell Vollrath, Philip Voudris, Andrew Watts, Adler Weber, Amelia Witmer-Rich, Phillip Witmer-Rich and Bailey Wood.

Students who received AP Scholar with Honors include: Paige Belew, Spencer Brown, Molly Hubert, Leah Jarmolowicz, Ronen Ku, Elena Lioudis, Colin Mast, Kaitlyn McFadden, Kylee Pierson, Casey Pleune, Carley Riggins-Link, Claire Rottman, Connor Seely, Nathan Spencer, Chloe Thomas, Imanol Valadez and Logan Vargo.

Students who earned AP Scholar recognition include: Jonathan Abbarno, Dominic Alandt, Noelle Badalotti, Sophia Balunek, Abigail Bednar, Nathan Bertman, Valerie Brown, Valentino Carriero, Skylar Cinch, Brandon Cloud, Rowan Collier, Summer Davidson, Emily Donovan, Zoe Doyle, Joseph Drsek, Kayla Eastman, Alexandra Ensign, Matthew Fantauzzo, Brennan Fisher, Rachel Flack, Keenan Garceau, Micah Greenberg, Todd Gruden, Sean Gurd, Zander Hart, Jason Hildebran, Emily Jernejcic, Zoe Koch, Kaden Laehu, James Magee, Remington Maurer, Benjamin McGinnis, Jay Ohlsen, Ryan Peters, Matthew Pierce, Zachary Pijor, Dennis Princic, Peyton Raypholtz, Madeline Scarvelli, Isabelle Seewald, Robert Snyder, Marcus Steinmetz, Anya Swope, Allyson Vickers, Maria Vincenti, Natalie Wasinski, Isabel Weinhofer, Madeline Worsdall, Hannah Yakovac and Marin Zoretich.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.